Medal of Honor Commemorative Coin Program

The 2011 Medal of Honor Commemorative Coin Program recognizes and celebrates the establishment of the Medal of Honor. The Medal of Honor is the highest award for valor in action against an enemy force that can be bestowed upon an individual serving in the U.S. Armed Forces. It is presented to a person who distinguishes him or herself conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of his or her life above and beyond the call of duty while:

  • engaged in action against an enemy of the United States;
  • engaged in military operations involving conflict with an opposing foreign force; or
  • serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an armed conflict against an opposing armed force in which the United States is not a belligerent party.

Fewer than 3,600 Medals of Honor have ever been awarded.

The Medal of Honor was first authorized by Congress in 1861 as the Navy’s highest personal decoration, with the Army Medal of Honor authorized in 1862 and the Air Force Medal of Honor in 1956. The medals are presented by the President in the name of Congress.

As authorized, the Mint produced $5 gold and $1 silver coins in both proof and uncirculated qualities. The designs are emblematic of the traditions, legacy, and heritage of the Medal of Honor and the distinguished service of its recipients.

About the Coins

Content last updated on

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.